Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Adam and Eve Bridge

I can't remember ever seeing a name plate on this bridge, along the Wyrley and Essington canal near Rough Wood.  That it should be on laminated card, referencing the Canals and Rivers Trust made me wonder if it were a modern naming but a little research shows it has had this name for more than 40 years.  Someone posted a picture taken in 1976 which called it the same, so I suspect it has had this name for a lot longer.  It made me wonder if the original name plate had been stolen by some loving couple?

It was a much better day's weather so I'd walked to my mother in law's to cut the lawn and then continued my walk to meet L at the shopping precinct close to her work.  

I was tight on time so upped the pace over the last three miles, completing them in just over 50 minutes.  That despite the inevitable stops to negotiate other walkers.  It is now a fact of the new circumstances we live in that so many of us make space when we are passing other people on paths.  The only people that seem oblivious to the new etiquette are young people and I watched and cringed on a couple of occasions as some of them passed elderly people visibly upset by the lack of consideration.

On that note the local Birmingham paper has a report tonight suggesting that the city may have to go into local lockdown if covid levels of positive cases continue to rise.  While we live outside of the city it is still something of a worry that this action is being contemplated so close to where we live.

Day Miles:  7.0 miles. Total Miles: 1,041.3 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.