WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Un petit coin de parodie

Hervé Tirefort is a singer and humorist who performs parodies of well-known French singers. This didn't sound like my thing, but I went along anyway since I am the official photographer, thinking I could easily slip away after a couple of numbers. But actually he was worth staying for. He has an astonishingly wide repertoire and nerves of steel as well. His method is to ask the audience to suggest a singer, whereupon he will sing something of theirs. No-one left him stumped. He did have a tablet with music on it, but that doesn't mean you don't have to be confident you can sing and play anything (his piano playing wasn't too shabby either). If two people suggested someone simultaneously, he would combine them by improvising ... Boby Lapointe and some rapper I'd never heard of for example (extra 1). 

He was very entertaining and managed to ignore a horribly hyperactive child rushing up and down immediately in front of him while a crowd of siblings and friends giggled and shrieked encouragement. I didn't envy the parents who were trying in vain to get him to sit down for more than two seconds while also keeping an eye on five other kids. It was probably more fun if you knew all the songs/singers -- I was familiar with the classics but not the newer ones.

Extra 2: today's bread from the Paul Hollywood book. It's a plain white dough wrapped round a filling of cheese and sliced apples. The recipe uses Cheddar, but I substituted the strong Pyrenean sheep's cheese we bought on the way home from Bordes de Graus. I've never made filled bread before; it was excellent eaten warm with the cheese still gooey, an instant sandwich.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.