Fishing Boat

This morning I had to go to Sheringham to visit the optician for my annual check as my dad had glaucoma. I stupidly took the coast road and nearly had to turn back due to a large branch covering half the road. I'm keeping out of town centres given the number of tourists and Sheringham didn't disappoint. No social distancing to speak of given the numbers and small pavements, but surprising in that context only about half of people had masks on - no wonder the R rate is going up. The eye test was fine although I had to move my mask so it only covered my mouth during the main test as otherwise it fogged up the optics (everyone has to do this). I took a photo of this fishing boat far out at sea and have given it a 'palette knife' treatment. Otherwise a quiet day (except for the noise of the 53 mph wind gusts!) and just painted the wall I prepped yesterday, plus the skirting board. 

Sad news this morning as I heard that my nephew's wife died of the cancer she was only diagnosed with earlier this year.

Day 159 / Full Day 151 of Lockdown / Day 49 of Step 3 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 2 to 41,405 (revised basis), with new daily cases up by 1,033 but only 841 patients in hospital. Globally cases to date pass 23m (slowing to 4 days for 1m this time), with 53% of cases being from just 3 countries: the USA, Brazil and India. Globally deaths pass 800,000, the three countries above counting for 43% of total deaths. The WHO chief hopes the coronavirus pandemic will be over in 2 years. Also said that a working group had been set up to identify mutations and their implications. The president-elect of the International Society of Infectious Diseases has said that an increasingly common mutation D614G has coincided with a drop in death rates. The UK R rate has gone up to 0.9-1.1 from 0.8-0.9 last week. The virus growth rate also went up to -3% to +1%. In Blackburn, Oldham and Pendle people from different households will not be able to meet in any setting. Birmingham has been added as an 'area of enhanced support' and Northampton as an 'area of intervention'.. The ban on evictions has been extended by 4 weeks. National debt passes £2tn for the 1st time, which for the first time in my lifetime is over 100% of GDP. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.