Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mr. Flashy Pants

Although the light was very harsh, I like this shot.  The light behind his fanned tail and the glistening spider web makes it kind of speak to me.  And, yes, well... it's a hummingbird and those of you who know me know that this is my very favorite of all the birds.  Full of attitude and courage, seemingly fearless and about the size of my thumb...what's not to love?

It was hot today, with rising humidity which made being outdoors a little unpleasant.  Too bad, as I was planning on visiting one of the local fields for butterflies.  But, instead I stayed in my garden where I could duck inside periodically to cool off.  I logged a pretty good assortment of butterflies in the garden, including a Common Wood Nymph which is an uncommon visitor in my garden.  Also 4 monarchs who arrived together and are probably early migrants.  And still an astonishing number of the small Metallic Green Sweat Bees on the mountain mint!  

As I write this, Tom (the turkey) is pottering around in the yard.  He visits multiple times every day for food and water.  He tolerates my presence to a point, before he trots off across the yard into the woods.  He's been visiting daily since last winter, a first for us as usually the wild turkeys don't stick around.  He delights me with his soft little chuckling noises.  

Salmon and a fresh Greek salad for dinner tonight.  Then a little TV.  An exciting Saturday night here on the Lane!

Be safe.  Be kind and be loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.