wrperry

By wrperry

Camera Settings

With the extra time I've had around the house, I've been concentrating on photographing the hummers around my feeder.  I would estimate I have to wait 15 minutes between visits, and I've never seen more than two at a time.  I was scaring them away by moving my hands to push the shutter release, so I came to my senses and attached my inexpensive cable release.  I went back through my notes on how to capture hummers in flight,  and came up with a set of camera settings as well as the recommendation to focus manually.  The idea is to focus manually on the feeder, use the manual settings of 1/2000 at f/9, recompose, then sit back and relax.  With the cable release in my hand, and a book in my lap, I was able to read while waiting for the little speedsters to arrive.  It helped that their chirps and buzzing wings can be heard as a clue to press that release.  For the most part it worked.  It would have been even better if I had more light and could have boosted the speed to 1/2500.  I'm sure I'll have a chance to give it another try.
Thanks for the support for my previous hummer image, taken using the same process a couple of days ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.