High Flyer

Bit dull today, some drizzle, some sunshine. I have a so-called climbing fuchsia out on the deck of which I've been trying to confirm the identity. 

I wondered for a while if it was a fuchsia which I brought as cuttings from Tresco, which grows very tall, but I think this is 'Lady Boothby'. It's not really a climber, but a cultivar which sends up long shoots, up to 3m, and likes to push its way through other shrubs which can support it. It's a hybrid of Fuchsia alpestris and F. 'Royal Purple'.

The Tresco one, which is loosely called 'Tresco', is even taller and grew through some tall mahonias at Arduaine, up to 4m or so as I recall. Both of these are single flowers - I find singles far more beautiful than the great fluffy doubles!

Quote of the Day:

Vincent van Gogh - "If you truly love nature, you will find beauty everywhere."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.