Apple overload

This is the apple tree at mum and dad’s in Hoddesdon. It is the most amazing tree, keeping the family in apple for apple crumbles and pies all through the winter, it is such a prolific producer. The tree inspector (Jon) has even confirmed it is rotten through the middle, yet still it keeps going. We have had many happy times in this tree. As little girls, Manda and I would swing from a high up branch (which is no longer there), jump from a lower branch, into a blue and orange rubber dingy full of water (eventually bursting the dingy!). I used to climb up really high without any fear, but couldn’t do that now! There are more apples on the floor every morning (see the extra) many rotten, most with maggots, all bruised! But they are still the lovely giant sweet red apples I remember as a child taking to school in my bag for a break time snack, and enjoying the attention they drew from my school friends, due to their huge size. I don’t remember about maggots from those days, I just used to eat the apple (well as much as I could anyway - they seemed even bigger back then!)

So this morning, I left Hoddesdon with a boot full of apples. Some I picked from the step ladder or with an apple picker, but most are windfalls. I have some work to do cutting up and freezing this week! I went to Manda for a quick cuppa, then on to Cambridge where I dropped off a bag of apples at my in laws, and was pleased to see Jon’s sister Jenny and nieces Gemma and Laura were also there. So we had a long catch up, not having seen any of them for a long while. Then, back on the road for home, I got here at 4.30. Jon had done everything. Re-laid half the patio, sorted out the run for the chickens, cooked the roast dinner and done the ironing! All I had to do was the gravy! I know how lucky I am. It was a big surprise as at the very least I thought I was coming home to cook the dinner.

So all I’m going to do now is have a bath, and watch A Suitable Boy! A busy quite tiring weekend....with another one just like it planned for next week! At least next week we have Monday to recover....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.