Canna from seed

As I came out of the office at gone 6 this evening, I was thinking 'what am I going to blip', then glanced down to this canna which is outside the summerhouse, to see a flower forming. I was extra excited by this one, because I grew this plant from seed this year. Just one tiny seed from my canna flower last year, and this lovely big plant! I'm so pleased with it. I hope it has formed some kind of corm or bulb under the soil, so that I can keep it alive through the winter like the parent plants. It is the first one I've grown successfully to become a proper plant, so I'm very happy. I've had other success with unusual seeds this year, having planted some tiny garlic seeds that had formed in a garlic flower that went to seed last year. I started by putting them in a seed tray then as they grew dotted them about some pots in my garden. They haven't grown into big garlic, but are a lot bigger than when they started, and all free, because they're grown completely from seeds I collected.

Work was busy, but so great to have more team members back from holiday. Well, for one day anyway! Tomorrow we will be back to 3 of us. Its a slog, and that is no lie, but I feel happier for some reason. Maybe it's my new HRT!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.