WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Confondons-nous

Or, how not to typeset music. Try finding exactly which notes you're supposed to sing among this mess!

I'm still in two minds about this extract from Ravel's L'Enfant et les sortilèges. The closing part is quite sweet, but all the shrieking and chanting over an accompaniment that seems quite divorced from what you're "singing" is a bit wearing. However, our director is very good at getting you to appreciate pieces that seem initially unpromising, so maybe I will change my mind. And after playing animals we had sone light relief as a bunch of unfaithful sailors in Purcell's Dido and Aeneas.

Thank you everyone for the hearts and stars for yesterday's blip -- the most stars I've ever had! I was pleased with it, although when I have more time and am not tired I will go back and re-edit the original (the cloning left something to be desired).

Today, on the other hand, was incredibly unblippable. It was grey and dull all day. A few of us from the choir had planned to go to the Chinese restaurant for lunch, as we often do on Sunday, but we got there quite unaware that today is the start of the Chinese New Year. It was packed to the gunnels. With limited time before the rehearsal started again, we ended up eating in a supermarket cafeteria :(

I drove home via the scenic route through the Corbières, but it was so grey and dull that I couldn't find anything worth stopping for and got home without ever taking the camera out of the bag. So after a supper pulled together from leftovers, I've ended up with an emergency blip journal shot of my score!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.