Pellicci

Breakfast at Pelliccis in Bethnal Green. First time there since the lockdown. They have survived and are in good spirits. It's a piece of theatre in there. They asked me if I would mind Michael being moved to sit on my table with me, thus freeing up another table. No probs for me but he rolled his eyes and moaned "Oh, Gawd". I asked me if it was something I had said. "Nah, nuffing personal mate but the girls in here are trouble" - see extra. Then when I told him he was a Danny Dyer lookalike he groaned, roared with laughter and said "Leave it ahrt mate!" That's the moment I got the photo.

We went on to have a fascinating chat about what it was like growing up in Bethnal Green - he had gone to school with the waitress so they were good pals. I was enjoying my fried egg sandwich and he explained what it's like being a cabbie at the moment ( he is one but has had time off during lockdown).

Meanwhile she kept up the banter with another family with two young children. "How old are you?" She asked the youngster. "4 and 3/4" he replied. "43!" she exclaimed. "No...4 3/4"he insisted. And so it went on. Then she relented and told him that well, yes, he did look 23. And so it went on some more. Like a panto scene.

I left with a farewell to Michael and the crew. I shall be back before too long. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.