A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Nectar Wars

I’ve received such positive feedback about hummer blips that I’ve done it again! • I’m new to observing them so this interaction got my attention. Here are some fun facts: hummers are solitary and are not very sociable, except when mating; they divide themselves by territory, males for food abundance and females for nests. Each protect their areas, however males are most aggressive with other males. Males body slam in mid-air and will lock beaks and spin to the ground. Rarely is there an injury, just a lost feather, or two • They groom often, like bathing in water, have great memories too • They can fly up to 30 mph, and 60 when diving. Their wings beat 70-200x per second! • They prefer nectar but will eat small flying insects. Place many feeders far apart to discourage turf and nectar wars • There are 300 different species with 27 in the US • Time for me to put up another feeder! • PS - I may have seen the female American Redstart early this morning. I’m not sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.