pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

A load of boule...

A quieter day today.

Planned as such to accommodate some rather inclement weather, which as it turned out was more clement than previously anticipated.

The Eldest went out on a little shopping expedition with Nanny, leaving me alone with the wee ones. Having the house to ourselves, I thought it would be remiss not to have an epic game of hide n seek, play games and eat cake. All of which we achieved with great aplomb.

Post lunch, and - I hasten to add - by universal demand we sat and munched popcorn whilst watching Hamilton again. I know, I know! It really has become an obsession, but we all enjoy it so much and the music is soooooo good.

Honestly, I think it serves as my emotional release. Every time I watch it or listen to the soundtrack and my eyes sting with tears, there’s a strange comfort in knowing that my heart (which to the best of my knowledge is in a locked chest secured by lots of chains/padlocks and buried in an undisclosed location) is regaining its capacity to love something outside of family and closest friends. 

The boules have been in our family that long now, that they probably qualify for ‘heirloom’ status. It’s the first time the children have played a game of pétanque with them and they really enjoyed it. 

Whilst they were having an argument over ducks in the hot tub (don’t ask), I spent a very pleasant half hour wandering back and forth playing a game on my own. Simple things, huh?

Should really try and remember that…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.