pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Spoiled

My children are not spoiled, except for love, affection and a damn good telling-off as and when required, but today, today they really were spoiled. That said, I got to join in too, so does that count as spoiling them? Or are we just…….having fun?

We started with a wander and a picnic up at Scarborough Castle whereupon Matty declared herself Queen and immediately started ordering us all around and demanding chocolate milkshakes. She was quickly dethroned, told to eat her salmon and cream cheese sandwich and act like a visitor of an English Heritage site should act (calmly, actually reading the signs about the place whilst pointing at obscure architectural oddities in the earth and saying “yes, the scullery would have been here.”)

Ready for action, the bags were ditched and we headed into Scarbados (I’m borrowing that one from Simmo because it’s great) and went into the fairground, where a seemingly innocuous ride - The Cyclone (clue was in the name) - picked up greater speed throughout and spooked her highness, but she soon came around and started blinking again. Going on the dodgems and trying to smash her brother and sister off the floor helped, and m’boy turns out to be a bit of a demon behind the wheel.

The highlight of the day (aside from the sheer volume of junk food we’ve consumed, the Ferris wheel and a final surprise go on the dodgems) was a visit to the circus. A first for each of the children and my first since I was a child myself. It is safe to say that our minds were blown by the skill, bravery, cheekiness, bendiness and outright lunacy of some of the stuff we saw - four motorbikes in the same Globe of Death and then jumping over the blummin’ thing?! Just showing off now.

I gave the contortionist my phone number, but she just doubled over with laughter.

We’ve eaten, laughed, cried, and gasped our way through a fantastic day which has all been worthwhile to have my children clamped around me at various points to say “thank you”.

It was truly my pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.