Theo

I was commanded by daughter#2 to present myself at the Way Sign in Middle Meadow Walk today at 12 noon precisely to take the official portrait of her baby boy on his way to school for his induction into S1.

It was raining and I stood sheltering under the trees watching out for his approach, but was blindsided by his arrival by a different path on a scooter. I didn’t expect that.

In my day when it rained we schoolchildren wore belted navy gaberdine raincoats with checked linings and a distinctive smell, but having watched a procession of pupils wending their way to George Heriot’s this morning, there were only blazers on display. Considering their cost, it is expensive to be cool.
There is another school nearby where to be cool the pupils go about all year round in shirt sleeves and jumpers.
I imagine it’s also cool to go to school on a scooter in S1 although I think as Theo goes into S2 it may be considered uncool.

I was very pleased to have completed the Shetland beanie from the kit sent to me by IainatCreel’s best beloved. The pattern required complete concentration, but as far as I know I made no mistakes and it is ready for anything the weather should throw at us over the following months. It is my extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.