Dismantling

I think I have timed my return to near perfection. The Festival ends today with the concert and Firework display in Princes Gardens and the Castle. I hope that means the crowds will lessen to the extent that we can see the pavements again and the theme park that Edinburgh has become closes its doors until Christmas and Hogmanay when it all starts up again.

I spent much of today readjusting to ordinary life as opposed to the holiday variety. I do miss the sea, the ferry, the fishing boats, my Orcadian friends.........and the scones. However I will soon pick up the threads of ordinary living again with the family, my friends, the gym........ but hopefully, no scones.

I was struggling to find a blip today given my avoidance of going anywhere within half a mile of the city centre, but a walk round the Meadows gave me a glimpse of the dismantling taking place and the mess the circus has made of the grass. It seems much worse than usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.