Inspiration 40 Years On

Today’s Blipfoto was taken of a Photograph taken 40 years ago.

I was the Project Architect and it is my name on the RIBA’s Commendation Award. Unusually it is almost all my own work and I drew virtually everything by hand, including the ceiling.

The ceiling is shaped using ribs in much the same way as a wooden boat hull is constructed.

I met with the carpenters on site, handed over the roll of drawings and explained how they should construct it.

They were very cautious and sceptical.

I then caught the ferry back to the mainland.

Two weeks went by with no phone calls. A little nervous, as I came down the gang plank to be met by two very happy carpenters.

"You must see this. We are really pleased with what we have done". 

The windows had been obscured and when I went in it was exactly as I had intended.

"When you left last visit, we were quite sceptical, but we are very proud now.’’ 

Craftsmanship at its best. A great feeling.

We might just reproduce this in the "Chapterhouse".

Pat has banned me from going to see the building. Apparently the owners managed to build something in front of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.