Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Swirls

(27/8/20)
I forgot my camera in the car last night so couldn't blip. I nearly went down to fetch it at 10 pm when I realised I didn't have it with me, but it looked so dark out there.

The day began with two a/c servicemen coming to look at the unit in my room. It stopped cooling on Monday night. The initial diagnosis was that it needed a gas charge. This was a big relief for the relatively cheap and quick fix that it is. However, once that was done it still wasn't cooling. It then emerged that the cooling coil needed to be replaced and while the outside unit was opened up, the capacitor was changed as well. It is unusually forward-thinking of these guys to replace a part in advance, in fact, they even threw it in for free! As for the cost of the repair... I wish so much now that I'd changed this air-conditioner years ago when it first started to give problems.

It was nearly noon by the time they finished, so we went to Carter's for a late breakfast. I wish I'd remembered they open at 1 pm now, so we had a thirty-minute wait. We finally got in only to find that they are not doing their all-day breakfast at the moment even though their website still advertises it. We didn't stay.

We walked over to the main mall passing this gorgeous architectural feature on the way. I always get a shot of it when I see it. We ended up at The Square where we got a great welcome and service.

G wanted a quick shop in Carrefour, but rather than doing it in Wafi (there was less than an hour left of free parking), we went over to Festival City! Crazy move, but it's an easier shop there. Back home in time for 4 o'clock tea and to cruise into the evening.

A very spontaneous Zoom call with our friend in Washington DC took place at 9. As always with Miriam, the conversation flows freely and we finally said our goodbyes at midnight! IT was 1 pm for her when we started and she hadn't had any lunch. She needed to eat something and we needed to get to bed. It's just as well I'd forgotten the camera in the car, or I would have stayed up even later.

Oh, and Google informed me that I've had four million views for the pictures I've contributed on Googlemaps! :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.