FLOWER FRIDAY - AND SELINA THE TINY SNAIL

Mr. HCB has been up for ages, but I just took my time because I knew our friends weren’t coming for coffee until 10 o’clock, and it wasn’t that bright so a few more pages of my book called.  

Eventually, I went out into the garden intending to photograph one of the Helianthus against the blue fence, before it’s taken down and replaced by a new one at the weekend, but as I looked closely at the flowers, I realised that many of the petals had been eaten and I guessed that snails were the culprits - bit disappointing really - I gave them all a good time at the AOG a couple of weeks ago, and this is how they repay me!

Anyway, what’s done is done and who am I to spoil their chomping?  I don’t actually mind them eating the flowers, in fact, Mr. HCB would rather they did that than ate his vegetables.  I thought that the back of the Helianthus was rather pretty, and found this tiny snail, I think named Selina, curled up under one of the petals.  

I had to hold the flower up with one hand and manoeuvre the selfie stick with the other one, so although the back of the flower is in focus, the snail isn’t quite as sharp as I would like it to be - but I’m happy with the shot and have left it to much it’s way back down the petals and of course, to give Selina her 15 minutes of fame on Blip.

A friend messaged me this morning to say that she, too, had been into the Co-op yesterday and had the same sort of experience as we had had in the morning so she was going to ring the Manager of the store today.  I doubt it will do any good, but perhaps I should ring too, as the more people who make them aware, perhaps it will encourage them to do something.  I will mull it over and decide later.

Hope everyone has a great weekend - the weather is looking reasonable - and we hope it will be, because Alan, our fence man has 25 metres of fence to erect.  Fortunately, we have brick pillars every so often, so I’m sure he will leave us safe and secure, even if he has to break off at any point.  

I found this quote - and I know one of my Blip friends will be able to translate it, but the English is underneath if your French isn’t that good!

“Que faisons-nous ici-bas? 
     Nous préparons les floraisons de demain. 
          Nous sommes tous du fumier d'humanité future.

What are we doing on earth? 
     We are preparing the blossoms of tomorrow. 
          We are all the manure of future humanity.”
Léo Errera - Belgian Botanist - 1858-1905 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.