Threipmuir 

Today is our wedding anniversary. In fact it is the first of consecutive days of celebration but more of that tomorrow.

We decided to have a Day Out. First stop was Ratho (should have been in Orkney but Covid19...) and a good walk along the canal towards Linlithgow and back. We'd booked a table at the Bridge Inn for lunch. I have a soft spot for the Bridge Inn having worked in the kitchen there during a summer long past. It was quite a different place in those days. I had my second flat white since lockdown and gf fish and chips. It was very good but too much. Flora has a doggy bag for later. There were sensible mitigations in place and the systems felt well thought out and safe.

We then went up to Balerno. Our wedding reception was held in Balerno, at a hotel which is now houses. Just like today the weather was sunny and bright but with a chilly wind.

I was recently bemoaning to blipper Lady Marchmont that I hadn't been up to the reservoirs for far too long. Threipmuir and Harlaw Reservoirs were my go-to walk in the summer and autumn of 2017 when I was at that end of Edinburgh every other day. No point in moaning when it's easy enough to sort. The car park was full to bursting and we were lucky to get a space. Walked alongside Threipmuir and did the circular woodland walk round Harlaw before retracing our steps. The blip is the overspill from Threipmuir making its way down the channel into Harlaw. No drought this year. It was really good to be in familiar surroundings.

Because we had such a big lunch tonight's meal will be modest. Our elder son and partner left us a bottle of superior fizz which is in the fridge. I'm sure we'll manage a glass.

Happy anniversary to Cameraman and me. I have added an extra of the man himself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.