carliewired

By carliewired

A Drive Through Ranchlands

A morning drive in
the grasslands....wildlife and stock
Colours, light refresh

~ carliewired

It's been a hectic week and I've been carrying the office phone. I really needed a break from the house and the city. I left with my camera before breakfast to do my favourite drive through the grassland above my city. 

It had rained early in the morning so this kept the dust down on the gravel road. Up at the top of the hill, the wind was brisk and rather crisp. Summer is done. The colours are changing. A lonely grouse poked its head out of the grass at the road's edge and surprised me. Ducks were gathered in a pond. I scared them up into the sky as I stopped. A peregrine was out hunting and he took his rest in a solitary tree. Cattle were bunching up in the open range. They are shiny and clean after a long summer at pasture. They gawk at me not knowing what to make of my quiet electric car. I love the views into ranches in the distance. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.