Morning - Tranquille

It is always a
delight to discover the
big horns grazing near

~ carliewired

It was 12 C when I backed out of the garage at 6 AM. No evidence of a bear this morning. I was off to Tranquille past the airport with hopes of catching the first light over the pond. 

As I drove along Ord Road I noted the fire crews were setting off for the day. The vacant school ground they are occupying is absolutely full with pup tents, pickup trucks and service equipment. I have to be careful along this route as traffic is often heavy and moving quickly. 

Just as I rounded the curve before the railway tracks I found some big horn sheep grazing on the rocky bank above the road. They were almost invisible in the dim early morning light. I pulled off the road and rolled down my car windows. A band of four senior males were taking their time sampling the greenery. They came down to the road to graze along the fenceline of the former Department of Agriculture property. There was some butting of heads this morning. That surprised me as the groups are usually very calm and placid. I think rutting season must be here soon.

It wasn't long before this small band of four was joined by yet another band of four. This was a younger group as evidenced by their smaller, less curled horns. They seemed to all know each other. They moved along together on the dry field. I left them to it and drove on to Tranquille. 

There is a disease affecting big horn sheep and deer that's being spread by midges/noseeums. It is called Blue Tongue and has just arrived in our province this summer with 20 dead big horn sheep found in the southern Okanagan Valley. I can only hope our local herds will not succumb. 

The light was coming up beside my mountains. The colours of morning here are usually very lovely. The pond had many herons, pelicans and ducks. My shaky hands were not up to the task this morning. 

I used my small camera to take some photos of the changing wildflowers and trees near Tranquille Farms. Then I was off for home.

We have a beautiful sunny day unfolding with an expected high of 29 C.
I am hoping to meet up with a friend this afternoon for a socially distancing visit outside her house. I will bring my folding chair and her belated birthday gift. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.