To Schubert Drive Lookout

It is a very
low energy morning for
me on a Monday

~ carliewired

I was awake before 4 and making my coffee in the dark. There had been a little bit of rain overnight. I noticed it on my deck when I went out to take my first photos of the day. The local forest fire smoke has added some colour to the eastern sky again this morning. I waited for the sun to rise before I made my escape at 6:30. 

I needed some groceries so I decided I'd get my shots on the north shore first. I pulled into the Schubert Drive Lookout to get the views along the North Thompson River. Looking north to the bridges I could see the light coming over the valley. I looked south to the downtown. The sun was reaching there too. I looked east across the river to my mountains. They were still in shadow. I noticed the last of the black-eyed susans along the Rivers Trail. 

I was at the grocery store when it opened at 7. The security guard was rousing a vagrant who'd rolled himself up in a tarp between the rows of grocery carts. The store owner was just unlocking the doors so we stood watching while having a conversation about the homeless and their impact on our community. I'm sorry to say that neither of us had solutions. 

I was home before 8 and back in my recliner with my drive-thru breakfast. My new flooring is scheduled to begin on Sept. 12th so I have many tasks to complete in preparation. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 30 C. The rest of this week is in a warming trend so I will enjoy this cooler day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.