East Side of Riverside

Morning light has come
in shafts of gold like theatre
lighting on a stage

~carliewired

I woke up frozen at 4:15. A much cooler overnight (13 C) brought the temperature down in the house. At 5 I was making my coffee and paying attention to the sky. I took my first photo on the deck at 6:30, then left for Riverside Park across the bridge. 

I drove down Third Avenue and looped around the roundabout and into the park. I parked near the railway bridge. Looking over the bank into the river I found one grebe and several ducks. The grebe moved into the centre of the river as if stepping into a spotlight. The same big shaft of light moved onto the bridge and the north shore. Wildfire smoke in our valleys tinges the sunlight with a bit of an orange glow. 

I noticed that the wild roses have developed their red hips while the dogwood bushes have their clusters of white berries. The season moves on. 

I picked up breakfast and headed home. I'm hoping for a quiet day with a chance of a nap. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 26 C expected. We might expect the heat to come back midweek. Meanwhile, I will appreciate some cooler days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.