After the Rain

Saturday morning
puddles, grey skies and deer.
What could be better?

~carliewired

A storm was brewing as I went to bed last night just after 10. I couldn't keep my eyes open any longer. I shut off the A/C and opened up windows and doors. The house felt stuffy. I sprayed my sheets and pillows with my handy mister. I crawled into my evaporating bed and sprayed myself as well. Lights out and I was gone. 

I woke up at 1:30 AM with a strong, cold wind coming in. I got up to shut the windows on the west side of the house. The inside temperature had dropped to 21 C already. I rolled back into bed to finish my night. 

I was up after 4 making coffee. It would seem we've had some rain overnight. I was out the door with my camera at 6 heading for the south shore. The streets were already dry but big puddles filled low patches. 

I drove to the end of Mission Flats. Even this early, I was in the pipeliner's parade. I turned around and took a panorama looking across the river. Light was streaking the clouds in the west. Behind me, a Canadian Pacific freight train sat idle on the tracks. The engine was running so it snorted impatiently at times. Other than that, it was very quiet there. 

I started back towards the city. I spotted a lovely doe just where I usually see eagles. She was grazing along the edge of the road. I pulled up on the shoulder of the road across from her. That was enough to send her diving into the underbrush above the river. I got out and crossed the road hoping to catch a glimpse of her before she disappeared entirely. There she was peeking back at me through the vegetation. I got my shot and left her in peace. 

I drove on a bit further, then stopped to get a look at the end of the river and a shot of my mountains across Rabbit Island. 

I was heading for the bridge to return home and had just made my turn when a handsome buck came walking down the sidewalk as though out for a stroll. He stopped here and there for a nibble on the vegetation. I stopped in the middle of the roadway to get this shot of him through my front windshield. He looked at me as if to say "What's your problem?" It took me completely by surprise. 

I'm home for the day unless my girl has any plans. I think a nap will be in order. 

The storm that came through overnight really cooled things off. We can expect a mix of cloud and sun with a high of 24 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.