carliewired

By carliewired

91 F/ 33 C

It's a late morning
blip in the quietest place
I could find today

~carliewired

I drove off to Mission Flats just before 10 AM. I'd been awake earlier but the smoky sky did not encourage me at all. Thankfully, being a Sunday, the city was rather quiet this morning. 

At the end of the road, I got a panorama of the Thompson River from the delta up to the airport. There were a couple of helicopters moving about. Several people were on the far shore with their dogs. I can hear them splashing in the river. 

On the drive back to the bridge I took note of the expanse of sandbars in the river channel. It appears more sand than water these days. The drought has turned the north-facing slopes to rusty brown. Those beautiful saskatoon bushes from spring are now crispy. 

I got a shot of my mountains looking hazy blue across Rabbit Island. 

I stopped for a drive-thru breakfast downtown before heading home. I think I must have just missed the Pride Parade. People in very colourful outfits were moving around on the streets. 

The excitement for my day will be laundry. Then it's feet up once again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.