Hazy Morning - Tranquille

I was behind the 
sun this morning - I did not
want to get going! 

~carliewired

I took this shot of the sun up beside my mountains just before 7. I had to really push myself this morning. I left the house to drive out to Tranquille. I took the Ord Road route just below my house. 

I was pleasantly surprised to find three big horn sheep grazing the roadside along a new housing development. There were two mature rams and one younger one. I was able to stop on the shoulder of the road across from them. One allowed me a great portrait. 

I drove on to Tranquille stopping for a view across the wetlands and a look back at the freight train heading into the city with potash cars. No doubt these will be returned for refilling in Saskatchewan. At the end of the road I looked back at my lovely mountains and managed to catch some birds in the shot. 

At the end of the road I stopped to see what was happening in the osprey nest I'd watched before. It seemed to be unoccupied now. There was one osprey very busy with what appeared to be building a nest on another power pole. The osprey would swoop down to the field below, pick up a branch and return it to the top of the power pole. It seems late in the season to be nest-building, but I'm no expert in the study of osprey. 

The wild flowers in the area are largely spent. The white clematis has vined itself around everything and anything. It turns itself from a dainty cluster of flowers into a tangle of vines with balls of fluff. The yellow salsify becomes a large globe of seeds, but the blue chicory just gradually fades away. 

I was desperate for my coffee so I picked it up on the way home. A and I want to do some drop-offs to the thrift store this morning before the world heats up again. Otherwise, I'm in for the day. 

We have a day of increased cloudiness and the threat of a thundershower and thunderstorm late in the day. Our high expected is 30 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.