North Shore Morning

Water, land and sky
offered some nice surprises
this very morning

~ carliewired

I was on my way out of the house just before 6 AM. It was 13 C and the sky was grey and cloudy. I wasn't very hopeful about a splendid sunrise as it looked like rain in the forecast. The air was a breathable 2 on the air quality scale. There was very little smoke hanging about the valleys. 

I drove down to Schubert Drive to a  spot where I can see across the North Thompson River at my mountains. There was just a tinge of pink in the clouds and it reflected nicely on the river. 

I stood on the Rivers Trail to admire the view. Looking down into the river I noticed something dark moving along the river's edge very close to me. A beaver! He stopped just below me, scrambled up the bank a few feet and gnawed off a willow branch, wrangled it back into the river and floated downstream with it in his mouth. I was so surprised by it all I could hardly take the photos. So, that's the dark blob in the water. I never got to see the head or the whole body. 

I drove around the corner to head back home and there were two lovely does on the side street. I stopped on the street, turned off my radio and rolled down my driver's window. One on the lawn looked up at me and stood stock still like a lawn ornament. Her friend strolled across the street to browse. She nibbled here and there and moved on along the street. 

I thought that was all I was getting for a sunrise until I started up the hill for home. The colour coming up beside my mountains was dazzling. I raced home to get a shot from my deck.

After all that excitement I might just roll back into bed to get a few more winks. It's only 7:30!

We might expect a high of 24 C today with a chance of a thundershower this afternoon. All good. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.