From the Deck to the Slough

Another hot day
will soon be upon us so
I'm bracing myself

~carliewired

I was making my morning coffee just after 4:30. Windows and doors were left open overnight so the house was very comfortable. I waited until 6 to step out on my deck for a photo of my mountains. There were lovely strands of pink above them today. 

At 6:30 the sun was peeking into the valleys. I drove down the hill to McArthur Island east side. I thought I'd have a look at the slough and the boat launch. The water level in the slough is dropping. More shoreline is reappearing. The ducks and geese seem very happy to reclaim their beaches. 

I walked along on the Rivers Trail to the south side of the island. There is a great scarcity of marmots. I could only find one who was very busy filling his face. I managed one quick shot of him before he scampered off not to be seen again. 

I could see across to the downtown that was just beginning to catch the morning sun. Across the river to Rabbit Island, I saw an eagle hunting above the shoreline. 

I walked back to the Xeriscape Garden where my car was parked. All the flowers are over their best now. The city crews will soon be pulling out the fading vegetation. The crews that work in the summer have a short season and must get everything squared away before they go. 

I picked up breakfast on the way home. I have to make a quick dash to the hardware store shortly and before the day heats up. I will be hiding indoors today. 

We can expect a sunny day with a high of 35 C. The rest of the week looks much the same. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.