carliewired

By carliewired

82 F/ 28 C

Another day with 
poor air quality, but we
might hope for some rain

~carliewired

I was off to McArthur Island just after 8. I was setting no speed records and am feeling wooly-headed with all this smoke. I'm sure that lack of oxygen in affecting me. 

I parked by the Butterfly Garden where I had a look into the slough and across the slough to my very faint mountains in the east. The slough is so green, but thankfully not smelly. Somehow, ducks and geese seem to be enjoying themselves there. I found a painted rock by a memorial plaque. I left it there. The hibiscus tree is blooming beautifully. 

I drove on to the south side just catching a doe walking along the greenery. She wasn't happy with the mower running near her, so she was moving at a clip. I got the one shot and she was gone from view. 

I could only find one lazy marmot today. It was hunched over some cement rubble looking off into the river. I got the hazy view of the river that the marmot was enjoying, then headed for home.

I cast a glance at the firefighters' camp by the recreation centre as I made the turn. I'm not sure if they are knocking down and moving on. Little bright green squares on the grass remained where each little tent had sat. Perhaps it will be all set up again tonight. 

I'm home with my feet up once again. It will be a quiet day. I have hopes we could get some rain tonight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.