pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

#wakandaforever

Like millions of others around the world, I am a huge fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

The Eldest has been indoctrinated into its ways and I am looking forward to the day when the wee ones are old enough to enjoy the same.

Like millions of others this morning, I was shocked and saddened to hear of the death of Chadwick Boseman from colon cancer at the age of just 43. The heady combination of it being the day my children are returned to their mothers, a lack of sleep the night before and the fact that I will be turning 43 next year served as a huge reminder slap around the face to make the most of the short time we have upon this earth.

On opening twitter, my timeline was awash with an outpouring of sadness and affection for an actor who was the titular character in what is in some ways the most important film in the MCU cannon; Black Panther. Being honest, whilst still a great film it is not my favourite, but I recognise the significance of the first black superhero and majority black cast leading a summer release tentpole film. It was a landmark moment in the MCU and indeed in the wider film industry. I believe it may be the only Oscar-nominated Marvel film too….? Regardless, I am not ashamed to say that I was caught up in the outpouring and did shed a tear.

I know that there are other more important things going on in the world right now - there always are – but moments in time like this do mean something, particular when you learn that he was diagnosed back in 2016 and had carried on acting in these huge films regardless. Think about how you feel when you have a cold or are under the weather and how it brings you down. This guy just got on with it. True courage.

In my own mini tribute, I dressed all in black today and once the children were safely and happily deposited, I made my way to Bardsea with camera in hand to set out for a walk on the sand. 

The autumnal sun, the wind flapping at my face and the wide-open space removed any lingering sense of sadness. I felt light, free and happy and wanted to capture the moment, so set the camera down, played around with the timer and captured this shot.

Any self-pity, sorrow or regret I left on the sands for the tide to wash away.

Rest in power, Mr Boseman.

Wakanda forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.