Teasels

I've often walked past this large collection of teasels on my morning walk, and today I was also bliphunting as I walked. Just as I passed the teasels the sun shone for a very brief moment, so I knew I had my blip.

This set me thinking about the origin of the word "teasel" so I looked it up this evening. According to etymonline.com:

'teasel: also teazel, teazle, type of plant, Old English tæsel "large thistle used in teasing cloth," from Proto-Germanic taisilo (source also of Old High German zeisala), from root of Old English tæsan "to pluck"'.

I'd no idea that they were ever used to tease cloth!

There were so many of them together - probably at least 100 - that I wondered if there's a collective noun for teasels. "A tease of teasels" perhaps? I found a reference on twitter to suggest that there is such a collective noun - either a "frame" of a "card" of teasels, presumably derived from their use as above.

However that seems a bit boring, so I thought I'd tease fellow blippers, and ask if you'd like to come up with a fun collective noun for them. There's a challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.