Brighton Mod Weekender

I'd booked a swim at the Lido for 8.30am this morning, however it was only 12 degrees, and the water wasn't particularly warm, but there was only one thing for it - jump in and get swimming!   I swam for the full hour today and did 43 lengths which is just under my 2km target, but again I ran out of time.   I was the last in the pool and when I got out the lifeguard was completely wrapped up in his coat with his hood up and I commented that he looked cold, he said he was!  And there was me, just in my swimming costume, but I guess when you're sat still, you feel it, don't you?  Plus the water was warmer than the air temperature.

I had a hot shower when I got home and then Alan and I headed into Brighton as  the Mods are back in town - it's the first event that's been allowed since lockdown and whilst it wasn't as busy at it usually is, there was a nice atmosphere.  We parked at the marina and walked along Madeira Drive to see them, and then carried on to the shops underneath the arches by the i360.  I wanted to pick up a new Dock & Bay towel from Artist Anon, ready for our holiday, and I also bought Alan a tee-shirt. It's always nice to see Mars the owner and have a chat, and although I could have ordered the towel online, I think it's nice to support local businesses, particularly at this time.  We stopped off for a coffee and a hot chocolate sat outside the newly re-built Shelter Hall which is now a food hall.  It was very well organised and you order and pay form an App on your phone and they bring it to you.

We then wandered into town as Alan wanted to pick up some pellets for his air rifle before walking back along Madeira Drive to the marina.  By this time more Mods had arrived.  I took lots of photos and it was hard to choose my Blip,  but I really like the way these two are colour co-ordinated with their bike.

Back at the marina, I nipped into Asda to do a food shop and then we headed home and chilled out in the Palace with a glass of Sangria.  After almost a 2km swim, and a 4 mile walk, I was pretty wiped out! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.