Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Tree down

Our normal route to the supermarket was blocked by a tree - it fell sometime overnight Friday to Saturday, and understandably, given the unremitting rain yesterday, no-one had sorted it by this morning.  Fortunately, it's a minor road, and the local diversion is easy.

The road was still blocked when I came home from the supermarket today, so I thought I would walk down to the site of the incident.  As I arrived, the tractor you can see on the road was just starting up and reversing away, and the road was clear.

It must have been quite dramatic - it was a sizeable oak tree.  It appeared to have split into two, and half had fallen to the left into the field and was still lying as it had fallen.  The other half had fallen to the right over the road, and damaging some small trees on the other side of the road.  The portion across the road had been chopped up into small chunks by the local farmer, and will be taken away to be seasoned - we may end up with some of it on our fire in a year or two.

I had been to the supermarket to pick up the item I left behind yesterday.  I also popped to Hobbycraft, as I needed more interfacing.  I've now cut out, and started sewing, the purple jacket.  But I'm not sure how much more I will achieve, as I have a Zoom flute lesson tomorrow, and then need to help W with the packing of the car.  We're catching the 0900 ferry from Harwich to Hoek van Holland on Tuesday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.