Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Africa

Back blipped on Sunday morning.

One of the treasures unearthed by W earlier this summer from "a box".  I thought it was deserving of photo on its own.

Today was unremittingly grim.  Before it even started, I was under the weather, having slept badly.  W assures me that it didn't rain absolutely all day - but whenever I had occasion to go outside it was raining.  First thing, I went out to the room formerly known as the office, and which has now been rather grandly renamed "the studio" (W didn't like Room X), to cycle (around Maui at the moment).  It was raining when I went out, and when I came back into the house for a shower and coffee.  Then when I went out again to practice my flute, it was raining.

After lunch, I went to the supermarket in the rain.  I had a huge trolley full - we needed to stock up, as once we return from Sweden, we have to assume we will be in quarantine.  We will get a veg delivery on the day of our return, and our neighbour will kindly do some shopping - but even so.  In addition, the daughters in Sweden had done an online "click and collect" shop, but part of it had failed to save and a couple of items had been unavailable, so these missing items had to be sought and purchased.  The checkout operative was closing after my load, and kept pushing things through faster than I could pack them into bags, with the result that the pressure meant I left something behind, which whilst not expensive or absolutely essential, was annoying.  Fortunately, once home, and I realised it was missing, I phoned the Tesco customer service, and was reassured that it had been found and I could pick it up at my convenience.  It was still (or again) raining when I came out of the supermarket.

And it was raining as I refilled the bird feeders - the rain had not prevented the greedy blighters from finishing all the sunflower hearts.

All in all, a miserable day.  No photos taken, so this is something of an Emergency Blip, taken at 11pm, just before retiring to bed.

But there is watery sunshine this morning, and I am about to go and pick up my missing item.  Later I will go back out to the studio, where I would like to make some progress on the purple jacket - I don't think I'll be able to quite finish it before we leave - but we are taking the sewing machine with us, as R has some curtains that need to be shortened - so I can finish it whilst we are in Sweden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.