Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Room X

I spent a couple of hours today, re-arranging the room which until recently was known as the office.  

It was originally intended for W to use as an office, and his desk and filing cabinets took up most of one side, with a sofa bed for occasional use as a spare bedroom.  It has gone through various changes - it started life as the warehouse - christened as that by our removal men, because anything that we didn't have another place for was put into this room.  Over the years it has served as the laundry room, an office, my sewing room, a music room and latterly has become our exercise room.  It is still the room where I keep my sewing stuff, and where I practice the flute.  It has generally been known as "the office".  

But if there is one thing it is most definitely NOT now, that is an office - W has retired, and over the last few months has had a radical emptying of his filing cabinets, which have now all gone to new homes.  His fancy up/down desk is still there, but I've adopted it as an extra table.  So we needed a new name.  I suggested the leisure room - but W said that the main thing he does in there really cannot be classified as leisure - it's hard work!  So he suggested "Room X". 

Today, with his help, I've moved the bookcase full of cross stitch magazines (yes, I know, no-one needs so many cross stitch magazines, I'll never make even half the projects in them, even if I live to be 160) into the corner, and the desk into a more accessible position.  I've tidied up my flute books.  I didn't get around to doing the ironing.

In other news, having received unsatisfactory and anodyne answers from the sellers of my plastic stained glass ornament through the Paypal Resolution Centre, I escalated it to a claim with Paypal yesterday lunchtime.  The website warned me it could take a month to decide.  But  by mid morning today, I had my full money back!  Perhaps I'm not the first to complain about this seller.  They don't appear to want the item back - it wouldn't be worth the postage, I suspect, so if anyone wants it, I'll happily pass it on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.