Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Bristly oxtongue

Another in my series of uncultivated plants found in our garden.  This one delights in the name of bristly oxtongue.  Our plant is a rather pathetic specimen alongside our hedge - not thriving, perhaps because there is a little too much competition.  I've photographed it a number of times over the last couple of weeks - because of its position close to the hedge, it is difficult to get enough light on it.  And for some time, I struggled to identify it.

Apparently it was a traditional antihelminthic (parasitic worms) treatment.

It has been hotter, more sunny, and drier than forecast - we had a little thunder at one point, but no rain.  I spent several hours in the morning clearing the spent aquilegias and delphiniums.  I also pulled up a considerable amount of self seeded purple toadflax - I don't feel guilty about removing this particular uninvited garden guest, as it was making a bid for garden domination, and I am sure that I have missed many small seedlings which will thrive next year.  I have unearthed a fuchsia that had been overwhelmed - its leaves have been made into interesting shapes by leaf cutting bees, but maybe now it will have a chance to flower.  I also uncovered the little silver willow we planted in a corner, which I don't think managed to flower this year, and looks much the worse for being buried in exuberant aquilegia - next spring we must give it some tlc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.