Marsupium Photography

By magi

Roslin Glen

The boys and Rowan were busy today or couldn't be bothered to come out so I went on a lovely walk on my own (well, with my camera). I took the bus to Loanhead and walked through Roslin Glen all the way to Penicuik. Roslin Glen is spectacularly beautiful. The path still requires some scrambling but I had the feeling it was a bit easier than in previous years. I climbed down to the river to get some nice views of the sandstone cliffs. I really must go back in a month or so to catch the autumn leaves. I walked past Roslin Castle, still along the river and found some new bits I hadn't noticed before. I crossed to road and continued along the river to the ruins of the Gunpowder Mill. For once there are still some bits left standing. The lade clearly carried some water during the recent downpours (see extra). Usually I turn back at the Powder Mill. This time I decided to keep going to Penicuik along the old railway line. I crossed the river again on the Firth Viaduct (see further extra). This would have been an excellent spot for train spotting. Onwards to Penicuik. I really enjoyed my walk. I hadn't been out there in ages. Anyway, even more pictures on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.