Exercise In Frustration

I remember now why I don't bother with focus stacking. Today was windy and thank goodness the spell of excessive heat has drawn to a close. Because of the wind, leaves were blowing about quite a bit and I couldn't get a decent exposure whilst keep things reasonably sharp. So I decided to focus stack.

The automated routine didn't do a very good job, so I manually blended the frames. Unfortunately, because of the overlapping foreground, that was very time consuming, but once I'd got so far it was like a jigsaw that had to be finished, no matter how frustrating. Never again.

I'm sure a scene that has foreground, middle ground, background with clear transitions between would work well, but not where there are overlapping elements.

And despite all my efforts, the branch on the right is still out of focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.