Snow Day

Today didn't get off to the best start when my phone rang at 6.30am and a strange man asked if I was Kay? In my addled state I thought he was asking if I was OK. The answer to both was a curt no!!!!
Then I get an email from school just after 7am to say it was closed today. Bloody hell!
It's not that I don't love my children - I do! - but I was looking forward to a lazy day without them and the chance to get a few jobs done.
Annoyingly the TV wasn't working so we couldn't watch the usual Sky+ stuff, but it's OK Ben and Holly, the complete works, is on Love Film through the Wii, phew!!
I know I'm not covering myself with parenting glory it's just that I really was rather fixated on my easy, lazy day.....
So we watched a bit of TV, did some drawings, bounced on - and squabbled over - the fab new pink trampoline that Nana and Papa bought Miss L for her birthday, did some homework sheets we had from school, did some puzzles, took things in and out of the tent. Well the Little Misses did - according to Miss E Mummy's bottom is too big to fit inside the tent. Honestly! Does anyone know of any good adoption agencies?!!!!
When Love Film froze up and refused to work I realised that the bad parent/technology Gods must be frowning down on me and decided to christen our breadmaker and make some bread with the Little Misses. They enjoyed measuring out all the ingredients and putting them in the pan and they enjoyed watching it get all mixed up and turn into dough.
Ten minutes later we were back in the living room watching Tangled (never let it be said that I don't mix up their excessive TV viewing!!!) when all the power went off.
Seriously.
Nothing happened when I tripped the switch but the phone made a beeping noise which I thought would be odd if there was a village power cut. So - being the expert on domestic electrics that I am - I suspected there was something else going on. I turned the breadmaker off and tripped the switch again and lo, there was light! And sound - for some reason the ipod came back on at full volume and scared the life out of me!!!
So no bread. But, hooray, when the power came back on the TV was working!!!
So it's been a long day. I have been technologically thwarted at every turn.
What's the betting this doesn't upload when I press the button?!!!
Ctrl C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.