criffel

Today I set off to walk up Criffel. It's a small hill (1870ft) but looks bigger because it stands on its own just outside New Abbey, to the south of Dumfries. I've always found the bogginess of the path rather off-putting, even though there are spectacular views from the top. In recent weeks, however, the upgrading of the path has been completed, and I wanted to see what it was like.

At half past nine, the small carpark at Ardwall Mains was already nearly full,  but then it was a Bank Holiday today south of the Border, and the sun was shining. I met more people today on Criffel than I ever have done before. It's good to see people out walking.

The path certainly made the going a whole lot easier, and I managed to reach the top without stopping (except to take this photo!). Coming down was a little trickier near the top where there are still some large and loose stones on the path. The last 200 metres or so were on marshy grass.

This photo shows the view from halfway up, looking NW over Loch Kindar and the Nith Estuary.

Having finished the walk, I changed my clothes and went into Dumfries for the weekly shop (no longer on a Thursday as I'm back at work). From the sublime to the everyday..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.