Packed lunch

For the first time in five and a half months we decided to go into London today. 

The train was OK - we were able to sit at a comfortable distance from other passengers and everyone was being good and wearing face masks.  The Kings Cross area we were heading for was pretty quiet (certainly more so than I am used to seeing it).

It was a real pleasure to get out and find a different scene from home. The weather was sunny and surprisingly warm (it felt a lot warmer than
 the 19 degrees Google was claiming) and everyone seemed in a good mood.  It was fun walking around Granary Square, Coal Drops Yard, Gasholder Park and the Regents Canal and we felt quite safe.  We also had teas and coffees in a couple of places, sitting outside and well spaced from other customers.

It was a real joy to  be out with the camera attempting the type of photography I enjoy (although I did feel a bit out of practice!). I spotted this guy, sitting outside a restaurant where he could have had breakfast or coffee or, probably, lunch or dinner, but he chose to sit there eating his packed/takeaway sandwich.

In other news, I heard today that I have won my first FIAP ribbon.  I have had a good number of acceptances in international photographic salons, and I did win a club medal last year, but this is the first time I have won a FIAP award. I really need to get out taking real photographs again to keep the flow of pictures coming (the last six months have been really difficult).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.