If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Buff-tailed Bumble Bee (Bombus terrestris)

Another full day.   The morning was mainly taken up by packing and gathering equipment for our trip on Solace on Friday.  The afternoon by Jungle fighting mowing the grass at Amber Nook.  I really must make sure I get there and cut the grass more regularly, it's so much easier in the long run.

Before we left I quickly took some shots of Crocosmia and the conifers.  As I was returning to the car I saw bumblebees on the last of the lavender.  I decided to take a few shots for reporting in the "Get Cumbria Buzzing" scheme.

As it turned out I prefered this shot of the Buff-tailed Bumblebee.  They are one of the common species, however as I have said before all species need recorded, otherwise we never know if they are increasing or decreasing.  Interestingly Buff-tails are beginning to be active in winter in southern cities.   Whether this is global warming or a reflection on how much heat we humans pump into micro habitats in cities isn't clear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.