A touch of South Africa on a wet day

Haven't been out so far today - it's wet. Still a chance - it's not 3pm yet! 

This flower is Ornithogalum dubium - I bought this in Lidl and Blipped it in May. It had two flowers stems when I bought it and a third grew subsequently. I was hoping to get some seed to pass around and so hand pollinated it religiously for weeks, dabbing each flower daily with a small brush. Result? Absolutely nothing! I even put it outside for a while to see if the bees could do a better job, but still nothing, so I gave up. I have no idea why - there's plenty of pollen. Now it's produced a fourth flower stem - this is the first flower. Can't say I haven't had value for money! Next year I'll plant it outside when the frost has gone and see if it produces more bulbs.

Quote of the Day:

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow - "The best thing one can do when it's raining is to let it rain."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.