The offending machine

Time for a picture of the jackhammer that has been the accompaniment to our daily lives for the last two days. It's going to take a very long time for it to drill into all of the concrete foundations on this enormous site. If that link doesn't work, then to get a sense of the scale, you can see the same photograph by looking at the extra to this blip. Progress now seems to be very slow indeed. We sometimes wonder if the workers are spinning out the job.

As a small bonus, you can see - just below the jackhammer - the remnant of a steel girder that looks to us like a John Knox or a Martin Luther.

I had a bit of an uncomfortable day today, experiencing non-specific anxiety. It's generally got better as the day went on. Yoga this morning didn't help much, except when I was doing it, but decent progress on a chapter, the sorting out of access to our Finnish bank account (lost a few weeks ago when I migrated to a new phone), and then 30 minutes shock therapy on the spinning bike seem to have sorted out the problem.

I've been looking at the booking options for my gym now it's opening again later this week. I'm unconvinced of the wisdom of combining the re-opening with moving to a new booking app which has terrible reviews on both the Android Playstore and the Apple App Store. I think if it had been me, I'd have got the gym open, seen how the combo of online and in person classes worked, and *then* thought about changing the app. Anyway, nothing seems to be working yet, and I've asked that my details are *not* included in a general migration, as I'm uncomfortable about the GDPR aspects of this. Let's hope it gets sorted out by the weekend. My participation in classes is generally frontloaded through the week so I'm not too worried right now, but if it isn't sorted by the weekend, there will be problems next week with bookings. I was thinking today about whether I will go back to spinning classes, or just carry on as I am using youtube spinning classes and my own bike. I suspect it will be more of the latter. On the other hand, I should get out more, and that's the advantage of going to Projekt 42....

Well, that's enough wittering on from me.

Just to note that we had a splendid dinner today. Baby grouse, and all the trimmings. Excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.