A Bit Of A Battle

The wood I mentioned yesterday - the one that cuts well but is a bugger to sand - is also a bugger to turn.
I think I won this battle with it but I suspect it may win one or two in the future. This is what my 'win' looks like.

I hadn't realise that the roots that ivy puts out to grip whatever it is climbing are not 'random' but actually grow in straight lines up the stems. I found that out when I was cleaning up  a piece ready to turn. When I put it on the lathe I thought I would leave some of the character of the plant in situ and This is what I ended up with.

After my battles I relaxed slightly by finishing the spinning top with the Pink Ivory tip and making the Ebony ones ( can you spot the mistake on one of them). They may not be the traditional design (and pretty small), but they do spin well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.