Further my skills

By H0tamer

Tauberbischofsheim

Today I hiked from Eubigheim to Tauberbischofsheim. On 24th June I blipped something I saw on my hike from Roigheim to Eubigheim. Since I started at the French border and intend to walk to the Czech border, I expect some more blips.
Tauberbischofsheim has some nice, picturesque places. One of them is the Kurmainzische Schloss Tauberbischofsheim, built as a castle in the 13th century, since the 16th century more like a palais, in the current form. My main shows, at least that's what I think, a nicer version than the first extra, same building, but then the back side. The city council added some modern sculptures you can see in front of the back of the palais, they cover light and air entrances of the parking garage underneath.

Another different style is the city hall, the second extra. This building is of 1865 and can be found at the main market place, together with a lot of the common half-timbered houses. The building is interesting, but it doesn't fit in where it stands now.

The third extra shows a border board of the Republic Baden. This republic existed from 1918 through 1945 (although 1933-1945 the central "government" took over all rights), and Tauberbischofsheim was the city at the northeast border (to Bavaria). After WWII Baden and Württemberg became the state Baden-Württemberg in Germany's southwest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.