Fruit fly

A decidedly dreary day weather wise, with light rain for most of the morning and early afternoon. Ideal weather for catching up with some reporting and emails! The day perked up in the late afternoon, when I received a text telling me that I'd been successful in tendering for a piece of work on the Wash this autumn. So there may be a fair few pictures of saltmarsh coming up in the next couple of months!

I needed to stretch my legs, so went for a short walk round Thorpe Wood, where the first fungi of the season were starting to appear - a couple of Sulphur Polypore and a huge collapsing polypore, probably  a Dryad's Saddle, which was attracting a swarm of tiny fruit flies. Normally overlooked, they're actually quite smart when viewed closely, and have the most amazing red eyes! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.