too sweet, nah ..

I had a creative mojo yesterday and made three different, healthy snacks for my kids lunch boxes and nuts free (school policies).
This is everyone's classic, a vintage recipe amongst all.
I remember making this one with my Mum as a kid.

So simple.
So versatile.

For the lot (brownie silicon mould) I used three bars of dark chocolate (85% & 70% x 2), melted in a glass bowl over the boiling water in a pot, squeeze of pomegranate molasses & some coconut oil and stirred in a cup of puffed buckwheat & millet grains, half cup (or more) of shredded coconut and a good pick of Maldon tea salt. As soon as it set I covered with melted white chocolate with some milk one for the colour and spread it evenly on the top. I also used few little dollops of Nutella (the real one) and used a barbecue stick to make some spirals. On top of it I placed little Oreo snacks (new thing in the shops), but can be anything really from Chocolate buttons to fresh blueberries.

Of course you can use any other puffed grains like rice or amaranth or quinoa. 
I made mine this way so they are gluten free however sugar rush can give you little kick after the lunch break :)

The other recipe for Strawberry Energy Balls can be found here.

Enjoy!

A xo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.