Back in the gym!

Gyms can open in Scotland now, since earlier this week, but my gym has yet to open. It was supposed to open next Monday, but this has been put back a week, as the roof on this vast hangar like expanse leaks and the roofers haven't been able to finish their work this week, as it's (ironically) rained so much... But we were inside today for bootcamp, and that was just as well as there was a very heavy shower half way through and I wouldn't have fancied being out in it. It also seems that personal trainers are already using the space with their clients, from what I could see.

I felt pretty safe from any risk of droplet infection in such a large space, but I guess it remains a small risk. COVID does periodically pass close by - most recently in a pub across the Walk from the gym, which has closed after a customer tested positive at the weekend. But I don't think there is much overlap in clientele. From what I've seen, the customers of that pub are overwhelmingly male, middle aged and older. The clients at my gym are overwhelmingly female, middled aged and younger. Of course, there could be household transmission, but the risk is still minimal. But this incident has reminded me that I have no desire, whatsoever to go to a pub at present.

I'm enjoying 'bootcamp' (i.e. mix of light weights and cardio with little rest) quite a lot at present, and feel like I'm getting more out of it the more often I do it. It's a good addition to the home-based regime of yoga and spinning.

Other than that, I attended most of a partially zoom/partially in person thesis defence at the EUI (one of my young colleagues), and got on with a short piece of writing related to an old project. It was amazing how much easier to produce that writing was than some of the stuff I have to write for my research. I'm not sure there was anything much else of note in the day. In the evening, after pizzas, we watched an excellent relatively new documentary about Miles Davis which is on iplayer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.