A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Can You See Me Now?

I came downstairs later than usual @ 7:30am. I opened a window in the dining room for some fresh air and for the cats. Eventually they’d use it to fulfill their morning Neighborhood Watch duties • After giving each one a dish of food, in their assigned places, I returned to the windows to open blinds for some natural light. Some slight movement caught my eye. There! A young deer, still spotted, was munching “greens” (aka weeds) growing on the banking behind the perennial bed, almost directly in front of me. I’d seen that one before. Tiptoeing quickly in to the living room for my camera, I crossed my fingers the deer would still be there when I returned to the open window. It had a screen, but I didn’t care • Yes, it was still there! Marvelous! Quick, take a shot! Don’t fuss too much, Louise, just shoot! All of these thoughts were racing through my head • Okay, I have at least one to show Mrs. P. Good, now I can relax, make adjustments, and take a few more. Maybe I’ll even get my blip! Just breathe, I tell myself. But Wait! What’s that? It’s another face!! Oh, my gosh, Hurry! Take their picture before one leaves, or both! A cat’s gonna jump in the window and startle them! Hurry, you can do this!! • Whew! All this before coffee! • They hung out for a while, moving over to the cherry tree to check out the feeders for seed, but the squirrels had emptied them yesterday. I did fill them later in hopes they’ll return this evening. These feeders are not visible from the road, and our property is posted “No Trespassing” • Hunting Season begins in November. Ugh!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.